Banking News

What is RTGS & NEFT transactions

What is RTGS & NEFT transactions

Latest update:

There will be 11 additional settlements in the NEFT system, taking the total numbers of half hourly settlement batches to 23 from existing 12 batches during a day. RBI communique said that with effect from July 10, 2017 (Monday) the additional settlement will be at 8.30 am,9.30 am 10.30 and so on up to 6.30 pm. The communique further said that starting the batch at 8am and closing batch at 7 pm shall remain same as hitherto and the return discipline shall be B+2 hours (Settlement batch time plus 2 hours) as per extant guidelines.

Update: In view of 2nd and 4th Saturdays of the month declared as public holidays for banks with effect from September 1, 2015, there is a change in RTGS time window. Hereafter, transactions will not take place on 2nd and 4th Saturdays of the month. Further, the process of future value dated transactions under RTGS which falls on 2nd and 4th Saturdays of the month will not take place.The RTGS would operate for full day on working Saturdays (Saturdays other than 2nd and 4th Saturdays of the month).

The Reserve Bank through its circular dated September 1, 2015, said that the RTGS time window with effect from September 1, 2015, will be as under:

The window opens for Business at 08.00 hours. The customers’ transaction cut-off (Initial Cut-off) at 16.30 hours.The cut-off for Inter bank transaction (Final cut-off) at 19.45 hours.IDL reversal takes place between 19.45 hours to 20 hours. Day ends for RTGS at 20.00 hours.

Process of RTGS and NEFT

RTGS& NEFT transactions are the fastest electronic funds transfer systems available in India. Under the above systems, funds can be transferred from a bank by its customer to their own account or third parties having their account with another bank across the country. The RTGS and NEFT transactions are distinguished by the processing time taken by them. In RTGS, the processing of instructions takes place instantly at the time they are received rather than at some later time. NEFT operates in batches on hourly basis.

Meaning of RTGS transactions

RTGS stands acronym for ‘Real Time Gross Settlement’. The ‘Real Time’ means the processing of instructions takes place instantly at the time they are received. ‘Gross Settlement’ means the settlement of funds transfer instructions takes place separately for each instruction. Under RTGS Scheme, individuals, firms and corporate can electronically transfer large value funds to accounts of individuals, firms or corporates having accounts with any other bank branch in the country participating in the Scheme. Funds transfer operation takes place on instruction by instruction basis continuously during the RTGS business hours.

The RTGS system is primarily meant for large value financial transactions. The minimum amount to be remitted under RTGS system is Rupees two lakh and no upper ceiling for amount that could be transferred. In normal circumstances the beneficiary branches have to credit the beneficiary’s account within two hours of receiving the funds transfer message.  If the money cannot be credited for any reasons such as the name of the beneficiary or account number mentioned in the RTGS message is different, the receiving bank will return the money to the remitting bank within 2 hours. Once the money is received back by the remitting bank, the original debit entry in the customer’s account is reversed. Considering that the funds settlement takes place in the books of the Reserve Bank of India, the payments are final and irrevocable. The RTGS service window for customer’s transactions is available from 9.00 hours to 16.30 hours on week days and from 9.00 hours to 13.30 hours on Saturdays for settlement at the RBI end. However, the timings that the banks follow may vary depending on the customer timings of the bank branches. The Future Value dated Transaction of RTGS would enable the customers / participants to initiate RTGS transactions 3 working days in advance for settling in RTGS on value date

Meaning of NEFT transactions

NEFT stands acronym for National Electronic Fund Transfer. NEFT operates on a Deferred Net Settlement (DNS) basis which settles transactions in batches. At present, NEFT operates in hourly batches between 8 am to 7 pm. There are twelve settlements on week days and five settlements from 8 am to 1 pm on Saturdays. In DNS, the settlement takes place with all transactions received till the particular cut-off time. Under NEFT transactions individuals, firms and corporates can electronically transfer their funds to any individuals, firms or corporates having an account with any other bank branch in the country participating in the Scheme. Any transaction initiated after a designated settlement time would have to wait till the next designated settlement time. There is no restriction or limit on the amount of funds that could be transferred using NEFT. However, maximum amount per transaction is limited to Rs.50, 000/- for cash-based remittances and remittances to Nepal.

Meaning of IFSC:

IFSC stands for short form of for Indian Financial System Code is an alpha-numeric code that uniquely identifies a bank-branch participating in the Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT/RTGS) systems. Alpha-numeric code is an 11 digit code with the first 4 alpha characters representing the bank, and the last 6 characters representing the branch. The 5th character is 0 (zero). IFSC is used by the NEFT & RTGS systems to identify the originating / destination banks / branches and also to route the messages appropriately to the concerned banks / branches.

Related articles:

1.What is IMPS/ mobile phone banking?
2.What is Point of Sale (POS) business?
3.What is NACH (What is national automated clearing house)?
5.What is ECS credit/debit system?
6.What is RuPay card?
7.What is e-wallet?

8.What is E-commerce ?

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


error: Content is protected !!