Banking News

Bank Holidays 2018 declared by Tamilnadu Government

Bank Holidays 2018 declared by Tamilnadu Government


tamilnadubanklist(Calendar of Public Holidays in Tamilnadu under NI Acts)

Bank holidays in India are declared as public holidays under explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. The holiday declared under NI Act is applicable exclusively to the banks located within the administration area of specific State and Union Territory.  In other States and Union territories where it is not a holiday, banks remain opened and allow normal banking transaction    similar to any other working days.

All Sundays and 2nd & 4th Saturdays are Bank Holidays under the explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. (This holiday rule is applicable to all commercial and co-operative banks operating in entire India).

List of Holidays

Sr.No Date Day Occasion/Festival Date
1 01.01.2018 Monday NEW YEAR DAY
2 14.01.2018 Sunday PONGAL
3 15.01.2018 Monday Thiruvalluvar
4 16.01.2018 Tuesday UZHAVAR THIRUNAL
5 26.01.2018 Friday REPUBLIC HOLIDAY
6 18.03.2018 Sunday TELUGU NEW YEAR’S DAY
7 29.03.2018 Thursday MAHAVIR JAYANTHI
8 30.03.2018 Friday GOOD FRIDAY
9 01.04.2018 Sunday BANKS ANNUAL CLOSING OF ACCOUNTS
10 14.04.2018 2nd  Saturday TAMIL NEW YEAR/BIRTHDAY OF B.R.AMBEDKAR
11 01.05.2018 Tuesday MAY DAY
12 15.06.2018 Saturday EIDUL-UL- FITR (RAMZAN)
13 15.08.2018 Wednesday INDEPENDENCE DAY
14 22.08.2018 Wednesday BAKRID (ID-UL-AZHA)
15 02.09.2018 Sunday  KRISHNA JAYANTHI
16 13.09.2018 Thursday VINAYAKAR CHATURTHI
17 21.09.2018 Friday MOHARAM
18 02.10.2018 Tuesday MAHATMA GANDHI JAYANTHI
19 18.10.2018 Thursday AYUTHA PUJA
20 19.10.2018 Friday VIJAYADASAMI
21 06.11.2018 Tuesday DEEPAVALI
22 21..11.2018 Wednesday EID MILAD UN NABI
23 25.12.2018 Tuesday CHRISTMAS

 

Following festivals occur on Sundays /2nd Saturday (Not declared as Holiday)

01.04.2018 Sunday Annual closing of Bank accounts

18.03.2018 Sunday UGADI

14.04.2018 2ND Saturday DR.B.R.AMBEDKAR JAYANTI

If any of the holidays for the festivals of Muslim fraternity notified above does not fall on the date notified, the holiday date may be altered by the concerned government or the community fraternity in government service may be granted special  holidays on the date observable.

Disclaimer: Every effort has been taken to avoid errors or omissions in the list of holidays published above. In spite of this, it is possible that any changes in holiday dates, mistake, errors, ambiguity, inconsistency, discrepancy or doubts may inadvertently creep up. The readers are therefore requested to be guided by the holiday list announced by the banks of respective states/UT or by the IBA for correct and as authentic information. Author or anyone connected directly or indirectly to this website accepts no responsibility whatsoever and will not be liable for any losses, claims or damages which may arise because of the contents of this write up.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Comments

error: Content is protected !!