Banking News

Bank Holidays 2018 declared by Sikkim Government

Bank Holidays 2018 declared by Sikkim Government

(Calendar of Public Holidays in SIKKIM under NI Acts)

Bank holidays in India are declared as public holidays under explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. The holiday declared under NI Act is applicable exclusively to the banks located within the administration area of specific State and Union Territory.  In other States and Union territories where it is not a holiday, banks remain opened and allow normal banking transaction    similar to any other working days.

All Sundays and 2nd & 4th Saturdays are Bank Holidays under the explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. (This holiday rule is applicable to all commercial and co-operative banks operating in entire India).

Sr.No. Date Day Festival Occasion
1 01.01.2018 Monday New Year Day
2 14.01.2018 Sunday Maghe Sankrati
3 17.01.2018 Wednesday Sonam Locchar
4 26.01.2018 Friday REPUBLIC DAY
5 16.02.2018 Friday Losar
6 02.03.2018 Friday HOLI
7 26.03.2018 Monday RAM NAVAMI (Chaite Dasain)
8 30.03.2018 Friday GOOD FRIDAY
9 14.04.2018 Saturday BIRTHDAY OF B.R.AMBEDKAR
10 29.04.2018 Sunday Sakewa,
11 16.05.2018 Wednesday State day
12 29.05.2018 Tuesday Saga Dawa
13 16.06.2018 Saturday Id-Ul-FITR (RAMZAN)
14 13.07.2018 Friday Bhanu Jayanti
15 16.07.2018 Monday Drkpa Tschechi
16 22.07.2018 Sunday Guru Rimpoche’s Thungkar Tschechu,
17 08.08.2018 Wednesday Tendong Lho Rum Faat,
18 15.08.2018 Wednesday INDEPENENCE DAY
19 26.08.2018 Sunday Pang-Lhabsol
20 13.09.2018 Monday JANMA ASHTAMI
21 23.09.2018 Sunday Indrajatra
22 02.10.2018 Tuesday MAHATMA GANDHI JAYANI
23 16.10.2018 to 20.10.2018 Tuesday

to Saturday

 Durgapuja (Dasain)
24 31.10.2018 Wednesday  Lhabab Duechen,
25 07.11.2018 to


Wednesday to


Laxmi Puja


26 06.12.2018 Thursday Kagyed Dance
27 08.12.2018 to


Saturday to




28 13.12.2018 to


Thursday to


Nyenpa Guzom
29 22.12.2018 Saturday Teyongsi Sirijunga Sawan Tongnam,
30 25.12.2018 Tuesday CHRISTMAS
31 27.12.2018 Thursday Barahimizong
32 30.12.2018 Sunday Tamu Lochar


Total 43 General Holidays (including 5 Sundays). Following are restricted holidays for state Government Employees out of which they may avail one holiday.

Banks: 01.04.2018 Bank holiday for annual closing of accounts.

May1 (May day) May 29 (Tenzing Norgay Sherpa), July6 (Dalai Lama’s birthday), Nov 13( Chhat puja)

If any of the holidays for the festivals of Muslim fraternity notified above does not fall on the date notified, the holiday date may be altered by the concerned government or the community fraternity in government service may be granted special  holidays on the date observable.

Disclaimer: Every effort has been taken to avoid errors or omissions in the list of holidays published above. In spite of this, it is possible that any changes in holiday dates, mistake, errors, ambiguity, inconsistency, discrepancy or doubts may inadvertently creep up. The readers are therefore requested to be guided by the holiday list announced by the banks of respective states/UT or by the IBA for correct and as authentic information. Author or anyone connected directly or indirectly to this website accepts no responsibility whatsoever and will not be liable for any losses, claims or damages which may arise because of the contents of this write up.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


error: Content is protected !!