Banking News

Bank Holidays 2018 declared by Gujarat Government

Bank Holidays 2018 declared by Gujarat Government


(Calendar of Public Holidays in Gujarat under NI Acts)

Bank holidays in India are declared as public holidays under explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. The holiday declared under NI Act is applicable exclusively to the banks located within the administration area of specific State and Union Territory.  In other States and Union territories where it is not a holiday, banks remain opened and allow normal banking transaction    similar to any other working days.

All Sundays and 2nd & 4th Saturdays are Bank Holidays under the explanation to section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. (This holiday rule is applicable to all commercial and co-operative banks operating in entire India).

List of Holidays

Sr.No Date Day Occasion/Festival Date
1 26.01.2018 Friday REPUBLIC DAY
2 13.02.2018 Tuesday MAHASHIVARATRI
3 02.03.2018 Friday HOLI
4 16.06.2018 Saturday RAMZAN (IDUL FITR)
5 15.08.2018 Wednesday INDEPENDENCE DAY
6 17.08.2018 Friday PARSI NEW YEAR/SHAHENSHAHI
7 22.08.2018 Wednesday BAKRID (ID-UL-ZUHA)
8 03.09.2018 Monday JANMASTAMI
9 13.09.2018 Thursday SAMVATSARI (CHATURTHI PAKSHA)
10 21.09.2018 Thursday  MUHARRUM
11 02.10.2018 Tuesday MAHATMA GANDHI JAYANTHI
12 18.10.2018 Thursday DUSSERA
13 07.11.2018 Wednesday DIWALI
14 08.11.2018 Thursday VIKRAM SAMVAT NEW YEAR
15 21..11.2018 Wednesday ID –E-MILADUNNABI (PROPHET MOHAMMED’S BIRTHDAY)
16 25.12.2018 Tuesday CHRISTMAS

Following festivals /occasion occur on second Saturday or Sunday (Not declared as Holiday)

Makar sankranti 14.1.2017

Cheti Chand 18.3.2018

Shree Ram Navami25..03.2018

Dr.B.R.Ambedkar’s birthday 14.03.2018

Raksha Bandan 26.08.2018

Annual closing of Bank accounts on 01.04.2018 Sunday

If any of the holidays for the festivals of Muslim fraternity notified above does not fall on the date notified, the holiday date may be altered by the concerned government or the community fraternity in government service may be granted special  holidays on the date observable.

Disclaimer: Every effort has been taken to avoid errors or omissions in the list of holidays published above. In spite of this, it is possible that any changes in holiday dates, mistake, errors, ambiguity, inconsistency, discrepancy or doubts may inadvertently creep up. The readers are therefore requested to be guided by the holiday list announced by the banks of respective states/UT or by the IBA for correct and as authentic information. Author or anyone connected directly or indirectly to this website accepts no responsibility whatsoever and will not be liable for any losses, claims or damages which may arise because of the contents of this write up.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Comments

Latest Tweets

error: Content is protected !!